Case history of my weight loss 

A couple of years ago I decided I wanted to rediscover the old more positive me. As part of that journey I started running again and trying to lose weight. 

I was using an app to monitor my calories, carbs, protein, fiber, sugar and fats. 

Everything I’d hit a plateau, no matter what I did. But then I heard about research that Dr Michael Moseley had done re sugar, and as I’ve already documented I recently eliminated as much sugar as possible from my diet, along with aiming for 10000 steps a day. 

So far the weight has dropped off, however I’m Wondering if I’ve too many variables, because I’ve two control variables, 

  1. Keep all sugars below 80g per day 
  2. Do 10000 steps plus. 

Well next Monday will see my activity level drop as I return to work as a courier. However it will not be impossible to achieve. 

Even then,there are inconsistent variables in my activity,including 

  • Route
  • Speed 
  • Weather
  • Distractions (such as other dogs) 
  • Environment  (am I walking on concrete, heavy mud,tracks etc) 
  • Footwear 
  • Clothing

I cannot control the weather, Distractions or environment, I have little control over speed but I can have control over clothing,footwear and route. In fact most days Stella and I do the same routes except the weekend, footwear I can largely control, depending on the route and clothing is largely effected by the climate I’m not going to wear a body warmer and heavy jersey in the height of summer and equally I’m not going to routinely wear shorts (unless I’m a British postman) in the depths of winter. 

So now there are only three inconsistent variables that I have no control over, but that’s better than 7.

Author: surman1972

born 1972 this is my continuing journey to avoid depression and steps into a growing interest in sociology and psychology

Leave a Reply

